The Vintage Series
Click pic to buy!

The Vintage Series (VP, 2000)

It's sometimes easy to overlook Pat Kelly in the whole rock steady scene, as he tends to fall in the shadows of Alton Ellis, Slim Smith, and the like.  However, his contribution to the development of reggae and the quality of his material rank up there with any of his better-known peers.  The songs on this well-stocked collection range from his late '60s rock steady work with the Techniques (in which he replaced Slim Smith as lead singer) -- such as the classic remakes of Curtis Mayfield's "Minstrel and Queen" (AKA "Queen Majesty") and "You'll Want Me Back" (AKA "You Don't Care") -- to his '70s solo cuts, like "Talk About Love."   Listening to this album, you may be amazed at the number of tunes you know: "It's You I Love," "It's a Good Day," "I'm So Proud" (another Mayfield cover), and more will likely strike a familiar chord with moderately seasoned reggae fans.  Tracks you may not recognize but that are well worth the "ear time" include the tender "I've Been Trying," "Um Um Um Um Um Um," "Night and Day," "Dark End of the Street," "I'm in the Mood," and "Then You Can Tell Me Goodbye."  If you're interested at all in the pioneering days of reggae, you owe it to yourself to know Pat Kelly.

tiny_mark_rasta__head.GIF (2174 bytes)tiny_mark_rasta__head.GIF (2174 bytes)tiny_mark_rasta__head.GIF (2174 bytes)tiny_mark_rasta__head.GIF (2174 bytes)

Track Listing
1. I'm in the Mood
2. Minstrel and Queen [AKA Queen Majesty]
3. Dark End of the Street
4. It's You I Love
5. I've Been Trying
6. Little Boy Blue
7. Whiter Shade of Pale
8. You'll Want Me Back [AKA You Don't Care]
9. Night & Day
10. Sit & Cry
11. It's a Good Day
12. Talk About Love
13. How Long
14. I'm So Proud
15. Then You Can Tell Me Goodbye
16. There Comes a Time
17. Um Um Um Um Um Um
18. Love O Love
19. You'll Want Me Back [AKA You Don't Care]
Vintage Series - Pat Kelly
Rate this album

Current Results